Our TDIA 2015 Opening Video

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 4.11.32 PM

Proud to present the Opening Video shown at the live 2015 Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards, April 24th. Our opener features clips of extreme athlete Aaron “Wheelz” Fotheringham, one of this year’s Honorees and also a Disruptor Foundation Fellow, from an original video by Devin Supertramp — truly capturing both Aaron’s spirit and the spirit of the Awards.    

When You Give David Lynch A Hammer…

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 12.06.30 PM

Last Friday at the sixth annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards, we honored filmmaker David Lynch for his work with the David Lynch Foundation, which has become a powerful force introducing Transcendental Meditation as a healing and stress-reducing program to hundreds of thousands of children and adults. We welcomed TM educator of 40 years and the Foundation’s Executive Director (and a Disruptor Foundation Fellow), Bob Roth, to accept on Lynch’s behalf when we heard that Lynch couldn’t make… [See Full Post]

VIDEO: TDIA Profiled on HLN

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.53.17 AM

During the week leading up to this year’s Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards, HLN introduced the world to four of the newest key players in disruptive innovation (above) on national television. Watch their reel featuring four of our honorees — Kevin Kelley (“The coach who never punts”), Debbie Sterling (“GoldieBlox”), Yael Cohen (“Fuck Cancer”) and Adam Braun (“Pencils of Promise”). WHAT’S YOUR SPUTNIK MOMENT? In 1957, the launch of the world’s first artificial satellite, Sputnik I,… [See Full Post]

“From Outer Space to Inner Space…Sputnik 2.0″: TDIA Opening Video 2014


In its fifth anniversary year, TDIA explores the impact of the original “Sputnik moment” and takes a bold journey from outerspace to innerspace, in search of the innovations that will come to define “Sputnik 2.0″. Written & Produced by Joshua Cicerone, Edited by Jeremy Mather  

Rick Rubin, Kanye West and Mark Romanek Team Up for 808 Acceptance Speech Video That Rocks Tribeca


Rick Rubin, Kanye West and Mark Romanek Team Up for 808 Acceptance Speech Video That Rocks Tribeca by Craig Hatkoff, Chief Curator, Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards & Co-Founder, Tribeca Film Festival This trio raised the bar: disrupted the future for all award shows and the usual deadly, boring acceptance speeches.   I was a bit disappointed when I learned Rick Rubin and Kanye West would not be able to attend the Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards… [See Full Post]

Jack Dorsey Debuts Square at the First Annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards, 2010


Tribeca Film Center April 29, 2010

Professor Clayton Christensen Wins the Inaugural Christensen Prize, Presented by the Harvard Business Review

Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards 2013 - 187

Norma Kamali Accepts the Hedy Lamarr Prize

Hamdi Ulukaya Accepts His 2013 Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

Four Years of Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards!

Brooklyn Bowl and Capitol Theatre Owner Peter Shapiro Accepts His Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

The STEM to STEAM Initiative Receives a Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

Vine Co-Founder and Creative Director Rus Yusupov Accepts His Disruptive Innovation Award

Jose Antonio Vargas Receives His Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

Glenn Beck Accepts the Charles Darwin Award

The Henry Jackson Initiative Accept the Adam Smith Prize, Presented by Newsweek and The Daily Beast

Beth Comstock and Morgan Spurlock Accept the Mark Twain Prize for GE Focus Forward

Garrett Camp Accepts His Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

Elise Andrew, Creator of I Fucking Love Science, Accepts The Henry IV Prize, Presented by the Joan Ganz Cooney Center

Quirky Founder and CEO Ben Kaufman Accepts His Award

Chief Executive Sir Howard Bernstein Accepts the Manchester Prize for Urban Innovation

South Korean Artist and Global Phenomenon Psy Accepts His Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

Ayorkor Korsah and Ken Goldberg, Co-Founders of the African Robotics Network (AFRON) Accept Their Award CEO and Founder Donald Katz Accepts His Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

Kenzo Digital Accepts His Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Award

Miki Agrawal of WILD, Radha Agrawal of Super Sprowtz and Kym and Alexis McClay of NAVEN Accept the Joseph Lister Prize, Presented by Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, for THINX

Deborah Kenny Accepts Her Disruptive Innovation Award

Forbes Media Accept the Schumpeter Prize, Presented by The Economist

Urban Dictionary Founder Aaron Peckham Accepts His Disruptive Innovation Award