Fellows Luncheon 2015

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.58.06 AM

Photography credit: Meredith Cohen

Photos: Awards 2015

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.55.45 AM

Photography credit: Andrew Federman


Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 12.01.34 PM

By Craig Hatkoff Two years ago at the Awards, Clay Christensen issued a call to action for everyone in attendance; Clay in his remarks exhorted that “we desperately need to disrupt religion, parenting and terrorism!” We took Clay’s call to action quite seriously particularly with regard to religion. Last year Pope Francis received our Adam Smith Prize presented by the Harvard Business Review; his Apostolic Exhortation, Evangelii Gaudium was our book of the year. We… [See Full Post]

When You Give David Lynch A Hammer…

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 12.06.30 PM

Last Friday at the sixth annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards, we honored filmmaker David Lynch for his work with the David Lynch Foundation, which has become a powerful force introducing Transcendental Meditation as a healing and stress-reducing program to hundreds of thousands of children and adults. We welcomed TM educator of 40 years and the Foundation’s Executive Director (and a Disruptor Foundation Fellow), Bob Roth, to accept on Lynch’s behalf when we heard that Lynch couldn’t make… [See Full Post]

Press Release: 6th Annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 12.08.02 PM

TRIBECA FILM FESTIVAL AND DISRUPTOR FOUNDATION ANNOUNCE HONOREES FOR SIXTH ANNUAL DISRUPTIVE INNOVATION AWARDS *** Award collaboration with Harvard professor Clay Christensen to recognize leading disruptors of consequence including Airbnb, VICE Media, Rent The Runway, Girls Who Code, journalist Peter Greste, Ford Foundation’s Darren Walker, Formula E Racing and more *** Walter Isaacson’s “The Innovators” named Book of the Year, Headspace named App of the Year New York, NY [March 27, 2015] – The Tribeca… [See Full Post]

VIDEO: TDIA Profiled on HLN

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.53.17 AM

During the week leading up to this year’s Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards, HLN introduced the world to four of the newest key players in disruptive innovation (above) on national television. Watch their reel featuring four of our honorees — Kevin Kelley (“The coach who never punts”), Debbie Sterling (“GoldieBlox”), Yael Cohen (“Fuck Cancer”) and Adam Braun (“Pencils of Promise”). WHAT’S YOUR SPUTNIK MOMENT? In 1957, the launch of the world’s first artificial satellite, Sputnik I,… [See Full Post]

Featured Photo: Sputnik at TDIA

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.52.39 AM

    We were honored and privileged to be able to have the original Sputnik satellite, straight from the library of Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Jay Walker, suspended over our stage and on display at the 2014 Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards.

Rick Rubin, Kanye West and Mark Romanek Team Up for 808 Acceptance Speech Video That Rocks Tribeca


Rick Rubin, Kanye West and Mark Romanek Team Up for 808 Acceptance Speech Video That Rocks Tribeca by Craig Hatkoff, Chief Curator, Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards & Co-Founder, Tribeca Film Festival This trio raised the bar: disrupted the future for all award shows and the usual deadly, boring acceptance speeches.   I was a bit disappointed when I learned Rick Rubin and Kanye West would not be able to attend the Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards… [See Full Post]



The Disruptor Foundation Fellows are a self-defining, self-organizing community of accomplished and promising innovators, applying transdisciplinary approaches in their work and daily lives to further the study and application of disruptive innovation. There are no requirements and no obligations other than to be part of an interesting community of creative “solutionaries” across domains. Mission is to go forth and multiply. Be sure to follow us on Twitter: @disruptorfound The Disruptor Foundation Fellows Include: ALEC ROSS –… [See Full Post]

Jack Dorsey Debuts Square at the First Annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards, 2010


Tribeca Film Center April 29, 2010

Disruptive Honorees, Panelists and Guests Converge at the Fourth Annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards


Photos by Andrew Federman                                                                  



2015 Book of the Year The Innovators: How A Group of Inventors, Hackers, Geniuses and Geeks Created the Digital Revolution by Walter Isaacson (2014) Honorable Mention Leonardo’s Brain: Understanding Da Vinci’s Creative Genius by Leonard Shlain (2014) Notable Books Flash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt by Michael Lewis (2015) Vital Voices: The Power of Women Leading Change Around the World by Alyse Nelson and Hillary Rodham Clinton (2015) Having Your Own Say: Getting the Right Care… [See Full Post]