2013 Disruptive Honorees Announced


We’re proud to honor pioneers and groundbreakers across all fields at the fourth annual Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards.

The Tribeca Film Festival (TFF), in association with the Disruptor Foundation and Harvard Business School Professor Clay Christensen, father of Disruptive Innovation Theory, is pleased to announce the innovative honorees from various disciplines and domains that will be recognized at the 2013 Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards. The event will be hosted by NYU Stern School of Business and will take place on April 26.

Supported by Accenture and The Economist, the awards ceremony will be co-hosted by journalist and public health advocate Perri Peltz and TFF co-founder and Tribeca Disruptive Innovation Awards Chief Curator, Craig Hatkoff. It will showcase applications of and advancements in disruptive innovation theory that have spread far beyond the original technological and industrial realms into the fields of media, arts and entertainment.

“In our fourth installment we are exploring the ever-increasing gap between the rate of technological change and the bumpier, slower-moving cultural adoption and diffusion,” explains Craig Hatkoff.  “We continue to push ourselves further out of our comfort zones, which is necessary for serious societal change, by highlighting exciting new applications and thinking.”

Legendary choreographer Twyla Tharp will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award for her approach to choreography. Through dance, she has created her own language and pushed the boundaries of our notions of movement for the past 50 years.

Honorees listed below will receive an Award known as Maslow’s Silver Hammer, in honor of psychologist Abe Maslow, who created the famous hierarchy of human needs.

The 2013 Awards Ceremony will take place:

Friday, April 26th 11am-1pm, Paulson Auditorium
NYU Stern School of Business, Tisch Hall
40 West Fourth Street (at Greene Street)

Lunch and breakout sessions will follow, ending around 3:00pm.

Click here to see who is honored this year.

2 Responses to “2013 Disruptive Honorees Announced”

  1. TFF 2013 says:

    Be sure to attend the 2013 Awards Ceremony Friday, April 26th at 11am.

  2. Craig Seti says:

    Looking forward to attending . I worked with Morgan in the beginning of his career,
    A theatrical commercial for Sonys first digital disk camera and the memory stick.
    I’m proud to say ” I knew Morgan way way way back when…

Leave a Reply